The Star Wars Saga is coming to Digital HD with all new extras


The Star Wars Saga is coming to Digital HD with all new extras

In the massively unlikely event that you had forgotten there was a new Star Wars movie coming out later in 2015, there's a timely reminder on the way with ANOTHER reissue of the original six films in the saga.

These movies, especially the original trilogy, have been revisited so many times now its not even funny but at least there's something new to add to the mix this time, Digital HD. Basically that means you'll be able to download or stream the six movies from services like Google Play and iTunes. The big news this time (or at least the supposed reason to buy) is that the movies come with totally new extras, to really make you feel silly for forking out for that Saga blu-ray box set a couple of years back. Here are the new extras, which may not be available from all online retailers:

STAR WARS EPISODE I: The Phantom Menace

Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back
Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures
Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE II: Attack of the Clones

Conversations: Sounds In Space
Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed
Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE III: Revenge of the Sith

Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was
Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers
Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.


Conversations: Creating A Universe
Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber
Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE V: The Empire Strikes Back

Conversations: The Lost Interviews
Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled
Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE VI: Return of the Jedi

Conversations: The Effects
Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt
Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.

A lot of this still seems like old material, let's hope at least that it will all be available in HD. It's also pretty much certain that these will be the tinkered with versions of the original trilogy. But for those who haven't seen them in a while who really wanted to watch all those warring stars on their smartphone (for some reason) the Star Wars saga is definitely coming to Digital HD.

Look for all six Star Wars films in Digital HD on iTunes, Google Play, Vudu, Amazon, Xbox Video and morefrom the 10th of April 2015. Episode VII: The Force Awakens is cinemas in December.

The Star Wars Saga is coming to Digital HD with all new extras on
About this author
Movie Editor
Recent Articles by this author
29 September, 2016
Dishonored 2 is just a few short weeks away, and you can look forward to dealing...
29 September, 2016
Drones are all the rage these days, with the tiny craft being used to take breathtaking...
29 September, 2016
Halloween is coming, and with it a slice of classic horror for your PlayStation system....
29 September, 2016
Well now. A couple of days ago game designer Michel Ancel posted a random piece of...