Most of the broadcasted shots of goal-line technology from the World Cup thus far have appeared after the ball has been well and truly buried in the back of the net. However, the incident during the France and Honduras match was one that needed the added insight.
Benzema’s shot came off the post before the keeper parried it towards his own net. He tried to scramble back, but his efforts were in vain according to the eagle-eyed technology. The referee asked for clarification, though it initially said “no goal.” That was for the initial rebound, but it awarded the goal for the moment after it hit the keeper.
Check out the Vine below and see if you could tell that it was a goal. The goal-line technology image is below for comparison.